The End Session Action is used to end the current user's Session. This Action is mostly used to reset the state of a Chat Bot. It can also be used when a customer is finished with a Session and doesn't need to access it anymore.
If the End Session Action isn't used, a Session will expire after 30 days. This default can be changed from Settings, or modified dynamically with the Extend Session Expiration Time Action.
Also, from Settings, an HTML page can be set for the user to see when opening a link to an expired Session.
- The user has reached the end of a Chat Bot flow, and their next text message should start the Chat Bot again from the beginning
- If is not preferred that users can resume a Session once they left off, this action can be used to make sure the old Session is not accessible any more. This would be useful in a situation where the user should start a new Session rather than use an old one.
In this example, after the user receives their purchase and the corresponding delivery notification, the Session ends.