The Apps Tab is where you access and create your Organization's applications. You might think of it as your gateway to editing individual apps in the Studio, though it leads to other parts of the platform as well.
In addition to the standard Create New button that appears in most Console Tabs, the Apps Tab contains another button: Import app. It is found directly to the left of the Create New button:
This button allows you to upload apps that have been exported as ZIP files, which makes it possible for app builds to be cloned or even shared across different Orgs. For more on how to import apps, see Importing/Exporting Apps.
Clicking on an application in the Stage will open it in the Inspector, which will provide an overview of the application as well as the option to open the application in the Studio for editing.
Description is an optional text field that can be edited directly in the Inspector. It is used to describe important information about the application, such as the intended use case, the primarily builders, and what work remains to be done on it. This increases transparency in Organizations with multiple users.
The Description field only serves the purpose of internal documentation. Nothing entered into the Description field will impact platform behavior, and the application search feature does not comb through anything entered in the Description field.
Changes made to the Description are be saved by pressing the Update button (see below). If the Update button is not pressed, changes made to the Description will be lost.
The Manage App field contains a list of buttons that lead to other parts of the platform.
The Edit in Studio button opens the application in the Studio to edit.
The View Activity button leads to the Activity Tab, with the Inspected application selected under Show app journeys for.
The Manage Branches button leads to an interface that shows all branches of the application. Inspecting a branch allows you to:
- Edit the branch directly
- Duplicate the branch
- Download the branch as a ZIP file.
The Deployments button leads to an interface that allows you to manage the deployments of the application. This provides a single place to view and edit both what Environment Profile the deployment is tied to and how application errors send notifications.
The Status field provides an overview of the application, including:
- Whether the application is published, and if it is:
- When the application was last published
- The version number of the published application
- When the application was last saved
- When the application was created
The Resources field only appears if an application is published. When applicable, it will list all the resources that can be used to access the published application, including URLs and phone numbers.
The Delete button will delete the app.
To safeguard against applications being deleted on accident, pressing the Delete button will open a confirmation modal. For instance, here is the modal that will appear if attempting to delete an application named "Chandra - Delete Me":
Pressing Delete will delete the application permanently. Pressing Cancel will close the modal without making any other changes.
The Cancel button closes the Inspector. Any unsaved changes will be lost.
The Update button saved any changes made to the application from directly in the Inspector. In practice, the only changes that can be saved in this way are changes made to the Description (see above).
Updated 20 days ago